Behind the Scenes: Vela Shoot

29 Aug

From right: Fizzah Raza (photographer), Marwa Biltagi (model/asisstant) wearing bella, Assma Wahab (model) wearing tribal print

Shooting with Fizzah Raza was without a doubt one of the most memorable photo shoots yet!  We combined both of our artistic brains to come up with a theme that depicted fall in California. Since I’m a So Cal based girl, it’s impossible for me to think of a fall 2010 shoot when in Cali it’s summer till October! This was one of the biggest shoots the Vela team had to prepare for, simply because its going to launch the official Vela website. It was important for me to show my roots and where I’m coming from as a designer.  So for me coming up with a photo shoot theme should always compliment the look of my collection.  However,  after agreeing to shoot in a beach scene in front of the rocks we didn’t know how big of a project this was going to be for both of us. On the day of the shoot we encountered everything from strong winds that blew the scarves in different directions, intense rock climbing, the beating of the sun, and unstable grounds for the models to pose on. But  Fizzah made  everything look so effortless (turst me it wasn’t) and was able to adapt to all of these situations, finding a solution for each one. She shot for two full days of shooting and really embraced the details and textures of the background. The best thing about her was that shused the best of one space, taking one scene and capturing different angles. That was mind blowing to me. I think you can see her true passion and art through every photograph she took. The background of each photo had so much detail and texture, I almost forgot we were shooting for scarves!

From left: Marwa Atik (designer) adjusting a blair scarf on a model.

Editorial Shots:

1.  Fish Scale Pleat

2. Black Bella

3. Leather quilt

photographed by Fizzah Raza

photographed by Fizzah Raza

photographed by Fizzah Raza

8 Responses to “Behind the Scenes: Vela Shoot”

  1. zainab1 September 4, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    As salaamu alaikum ….As you ladies, know I am a super fan of your work and placed a order for a few of your lovely hijabs a while ago. I noticed you have abayas listed in your store can not wait for them to released for sale…is this one of your abayas or similar to them in the 3 photo from the very top ?…that is FLY!!!

    zainab Amatullaah
    Shukrn, Wa JazkAllaahu Khairan

  2. naveed September 6, 2010 at 6:29 am #

    they are some good photographs🙂 well done and best of luck

  3. zainab1 September 16, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    As salaamu alaikum wa rahmatullaah ladies, The abaya above (blk & white) will that be featured in your fall abaya collection?…I left a comment before, but no response.

    Shukrn, JazkAllaahu Khairan

  4. nadia November 5, 2010 at 7:48 am #

    Salaam sister,

    I saw your pictures on Facebook and I really love your work?

    Can I use some pictures to show it to my Dutch readers on my blogspot? Ofcourse I will put a link to your webshop. =)

    http://veiled-beauty.blogspot.com/

    Love from the Netherlands

    • Marwa Atik November 5, 2010 at 8:33 am #

      Of course! and your more then welcome to also post the link to your article on the Vela fan page. Mashallah you have a tight blog

      • nadia November 5, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

        Thanks Marwa! Good luck with everything! xx

  5. Maysoon April 28, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Mashallah everything is so beautiful! what is the name of the scarf you are wearing here?

  6. Omar Biltagi June 16, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    Yeaaa thatss my sister Marwizzlee Biltagii mA😉

Leave a Reply

